SP leader calls for special arrangement to maintain fairness in election of UP’s 36 MLCs

Samajwadi party chairman Akhilesh Yadav on Friday demanded special provisions to maintain fairness and transparency in the polls for the 36 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council on Saturday.

He said the manner in which Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and other BJP leaders claimed to win all the seats raises a question mark over the government’s intention. ”For the sanctity of democracy and free and fair voting, we hope that the Election Commission will fulfill its constitutional responsibility. We hope the ruling party will not be allowed to rig tomorrow’s vote,” Yadav was quoted in the party statement as saying.

He alleged the manner in which the BJP ‘looted’ the nomination papers of opposition candidates in the Panchayat elections, it is clear that the party has no faith in democracy and free and fair elections.

“Even in the Local Authority Legislative Council elections, the drama of unopposed elections under pressure from the BJP government has been on display. “In the context of these incidents, it can be concluded that the BJP government will not give up rigging these elections either and it is evident that they are conspiring to forcefully gain a majority in the Legislative Council,” the party leader said. Samajwadi. mentioned.

Nine MLCs from eight local authority constituencies were elected unopposed. These sees are Budaun, Hardoi, Kheri, Mirzapur-Sonbhadra, Banda-Hamirpur, Aligarh, Bulandshahr and Mathura-Etah-Mainpuri.

Yadav alleged, “It is also clear that the BJP government does not hesitate to abuse the administration anyway to gain a majority in elected institutions. “The BJP government wants to impose unopposed and monopolistic rule on Uttar Pradesh by intimidating and luring village chiefs, BDCs and other voters through officials. This behavior of the BJP is a wake-up call for democracy,” he said.

After a resounding victory in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, the BJP aims to become the largest party in the state’s Legislative Council, also by winning a majority of the 36 Upper House seats that will go to the polls Saturday.

These seats are distributed among 35 local authority constituencies. The biennial ballot was previously scheduled on two dates, but will now take place together on April 9. The counting will take place on April 12.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link